top of page


APUK Jan 2022 Challenge Heart to Heart.jpg

Angela Steatham

My personal story


Hi, I'm Angela, also known as 'Space Angel ‘, on Twitter and 'Snakey' to my family (both monikers require a long story to explain!). I'm 58 and the proud mum of Charlie, my 26-year-old son. I live alone in my cottage in Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant, a beautiful village in the Tanat Valley in North Wales, and the location of the tallest waterfall in Wales.

To get to know me, you need to understand my values and how my life has turned out, although ‘how my life has turned out’ sounds like it’s just ‘happened’ to me, I have, since a young girl, been very goal-driven and, to be honest, have a strong desire to control outcomes. So, most of my life has been a series of ambitions and objectives (sounds exhausting, doesn’t it?), but it’s been a blast and I’m very proud of what I’ve achieved and the adventures I’ve experienced.

However, all semblance of control over my life ceased when I was diagnosed with chronic leukaemia in 2014 and this was exacerbated in 2020 when the pandemic came along and I was identified as Clinically Extremely Vulnerable (CEV) and I had to begin what is now (as at August 2022) over 2 and a half years of ‘shielding’, which is essentially living a life isolated from any contact with others. The shielding is because my blood cancer means I am immunosuppressed and, despite 5 Covid vaccinations, I have not generated a single antibody! This is an important context to my blog as, not only do I have to cope with a chronic illness and the resultant treatment, but I am also constantly vigilant to any infection, but particularly Covid.

But a bit more about my life and work… My career started in 1986 after I graduated from Leeds University in French & Management Studies and I've worked in IT, Banking and, for 22 years, had my own business as a global facilitator and coach. Over the years I have dedicated my life to being a single mother, my clients and, importantly, to being a political activist and advocate. I have been immensely privileged to have travelled the world thanks to my global client base and have lived in France and Egypt.

When I'm not ranting on social media about politics (I am a left-wing Socialist and very pro-EU so my rants are usually directed at the Tories!), I can be found in my art studio by the river where I create sustainable abstract art. I also enjoy long bubble baths (part of my pain relief regime), reading and cooking.

I hope we can get to know each other more over the coming months as I share my cancer journey and I'd love for you to interact with me - I am an extrovert, so crave the energy of engaging with other people, so please keep me company!

bottom of page